• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Trying to counteract med induced weight gain - Help please

Middleway

Ex-Bluelighter
I am on Nardil (MAOI) and it has made me pile on heaps of weight.

I started training about 10 days ago and taking my diet seriously and I am still putting on weight.

I am hoping someone can tell me where I am going wrong.

I was hitting the gym doing cardio and then weights 3 sets 10 split routine.
I wasusing active rest (jogging between sets) to keep my heart rate up around 140bpm for a whole hour.
I would finish the routine and eat a bowl of pasta or cerial with protein powder.

I have started doing martial arts and it is so strenious that I am going to need to modify my routine.
I am doing an hour of martial arts training 3 times per week, how should I fit weights and/or other cardio in?

My diet is
One cut of oats with low fat soy milk and blueberries for breakfast
half a cup of nuts for a snack
2 cups cooked vegies 50g of tuna and 6 rice cakes for lunch
Dinner is 2 cups of pasta with pesto or cerial with protein powder.

I drink heaps of black coffee and green tea, when I work out I use an energy drink, minimal fruit.

Also everything is the wrong way around as I work night shifts. I do martial arts in the evening 2 hours after waking. Work all night in a sedintary job. Train in the gym in the morning.

I take cromium, some fish oil, vitamin a, use nicotine sublingual tablets.

I can usually get results quick and have been quite built and fit in the past, this is just so frustrating.
Any advice greatly appreciated.

Oh yeah, I added up my kj and I am using 10600 per day.
I am a 32yo guy, 6ft, 86kg. I am also getting a lot of bloating, not sure why.